Throughout the year, AJC Atlanta pays tribute to those who have made significant contributions to the Atlanta and Jewish communities. 

Selig Distinguished Service Award

This award was established in 1986, by American Jewish Committee Atlanta, in memory of Caroline Massell Selig and Simon S. Selig Jr. and is presented each spring at the Atlanta Chapter Awards Dinner. Recipients of this prestigious award reflect the Seligs’ dedications, commitment and generosity to the enhancement of the Atlanta community.

We are pleased to honor Lauren & Jim Grien with our 2018 Selig Distinguished Service Award.

Past Recipients Include:

2017 - Beth & Gregg Paradies

2016 - Spring & Tom Asher

2015 - Eliot M. Arnovitz

2014 - Robert Arogeti

2013 - Sheri & Steve Labovitz

2012 - Mark Lichtenstein

2011 - Viki & Paul Freeman

2010 - Elaine, Miles, & Kent Alexander

2009 - Cathy Selig

2008 - David Kuniansky

2007 - Carol Z. Cooper, Laura Dinerman, Sara Franco, and Judy Zaban 


National Human Relations Award 

The National Human Relations Award is presented annually to leaders and corporations in our community who, with their skills, influence, and dedication, distinguish themselves through their professional achievements and their commitment to good works.

Past Recipients Include:

2017 - Larry Gellerstedt III, Cousins Properties

2016 - Jim Hannan, Georgia-Pacific 

2015 - Paul Bowers, Georgia Power Company

2014 - Frank Blake, Home Depot

2013 - Richard Anderson, Delta Air Lines, Inc.

2012 - Muhtar Kent, The Coca-Cola Company

2011 - Jack Sawyer, Wilmington Trust

2010 - H.J. Russell & Company

2009 - Vicki Palmer, Coca-Cola Enterprises

2008 - Thomas D. Bell, Jr., Cousins Properties

2007 - Phil Kent, Turner Network

2006 - Phil Humann, SunTrust

2005 - John G. Rice, GE (General Electric)

2004 - Michael Eskew, UPS

2003 - Mayor Shirley Franklin

2002 - Ingrid Saunders-Jones, The Coca-Cola Company

2001 - Ben F. Johnson III, Alston & Bird

2000 - John A. Williams, Post Properties


Judge Learned Hand Award

The Judge Learned Hand Award is the highest honor American Jewish Committee bestows on members of the legal profession. Established in memory of a legendary figure, Judge Learned Hand, Senior Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit from 1924 to 1951. Widely admired as a dean among American jurists, Judge Hand was famous for the extensive range of decisions he rendered in more than two thousand cases.

Past Recipients Include:

2011 - Fmr. Chief Justice Leah Ward Sears

2009 - Richard Sinkfield 2008 - Ralph B. Levy

2007 - Chilton Varner

2006 - Neil Williams

2005 - Fmr. Gov. Roy Barnes

More regional news

Back to Top