The American Jewish Committee (AJC) today announced Sidley Austin LLP Partner Bruce Braun will be awarded the prestigious Judge Learned Hand Human Relations Award in recognition for his outstanding leadership in the legal profession and Chicago’s civil society.

AJC will honor Braun, a co-leader of Sidley’s firmwide Commercial Litigation and Disputes practice group and a member of the firm’s Executive Committee, at a virtual gala event on October 22, 2020 at 6:30 PM CST. The keynote presentation will be a conversation between Ivo Daalder, President of the Chicago Council on Global Affairs, and Jason Isaacson, AJC Chief Policy and Political Affairs Officer.

This award was established in memory of Judge Learned Hand who believed that liberty under the law forms the foundation of this nation’s way of life. It is presented annually to a distinguished Chicago attorney who embodies Judge Learned Hand’s ideals of justice and who works to safeguard democratic values and the rights of individuals.

AJC Chicago Evelyn R. Greene Executive Director Laurence Bolotin said, “Bruce has distinguished himself not just as a lawyer, but as a person deeply committed to making a difference. Bruce is a remarkable role model and incredibly deserving of this award.”

Reflecting on the award and his nomination, Braun said, “As a member of the Chicago legal community, I cannot think of a more highly regarded award than AJC’s Judge Learned Hand Human Relations Award. Upon learning of my nomination, I was truly humbled to be included in such an elite group of Chicago lawyers. It is my absolute honor to be this year’s recipient.”

“Bruce truly exemplifies our firm’s tradition and commitment to pro bono service and giving back to the communities we serve,” said Larry Barden, chair of Sidley Austin LLP’s Management Committee and prior Learned Hand award recipient. “He is a valued colleague, an exceptionally talented litigator, and a dedicated civic leader. I speak for all of my partners when I say we are incredibly proud of Bruce and are delighted to see his efforts and accomplishments honored by the AJC.”

Braun has been recognized as one of the top litigators in Chicago and in the nation. Chambers describes him as “a ‘top-flight trial guy’ ... his work ethic is unsurpassed, he is an excellent cross-examiner, and he is extremely intellectually nimble.” American Lawyer selected him as one of its “45 Under Forty-Five: the Rising Stars of the Private Bar.” Braun has also been named one of Chicago magazine’s Illinois “Super Lawyers,” one of Chambers USA’s “America’s Leading Lawyers for Business,” and one of BTI Consulting’s “Client Service All-Stars.”

At the beginning of his legal career, Braun served as a law clerk for William H. Rehnquist, the Chief Justice of the United States, and Joel M. Flaum of the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.

Braun’s practice encompasses a wide range of subject matter areas, including antitrust, professional liability, securities fraud, internal investigations, breach of contract, intellectual property, software litigation, insurance and consumer fraud. He also has significant experience representing organizations and individuals in regulatory matters before the DOJ, SEC, PCAOB and other entities.

For more information about the event, to register, or to make a contribution in Bruce's honor, please visit the event website or contact Huston Harris at 312-646-6112 or

To learn more about our featured speakers for this event, please click here.

Past Winners of the AJC Chicago Judge Learned Hand Human Relations Award:

1976     Richard H. Levin

1977     Howard R. Koven     

1978     Justin Stanley          

1979     Sidney J. Hess

1980     Irving Goldberg       

1981     Joseph L. Fink

1982     Max Wildman

1983     Marshall L. Burman

1984     Reuben L. Hedlund

1985     Lowell E. Sachnoff  

1986     Howard E. Kane

1987     Jean Allard

1988     Jerold S. Solovy    

1989     Robert A. Helman

1990     Ernest Greenberger

1991     John R. Schmidt

1992     Theodore R. Tetzlaff

1993     Howard G. Krane

1994     John B. Simon

1994     Seymour Simon

1995     Anne M. Burke

1996     James R. Thompson

1997     Tyrone Fahner

1999     Gery J. Chico

2000    Jack S. Levin

2001      Lee I. Miller

2002     Laurel G. Bellows

2003     James H.M. Sprayregen

2004     Dan K. Webb

2005     Anton R. Valukas

2006     Marshall E. Eisenberg

2006     Randall E. Mehrberg

2007     Thomas A. Cole

2007     Theodore J. Novak 

2008     David M. Bernick

2009     Alan P. Solow

2010     Craig C. Martin

2011     Sanford E. Perl

2012     Charles W. Douglas 

2013     Keith J. Shapiro 

2014     Richard A. Chesley 

2015     Thomas P. Fitzgerald

2016     Stephen L. Ritchie

2017     Larry Barden

2018     Susan Levy

2019     Paul Theiss