Senator Johnny Isakson
U.S. Senator, 2005-2019

Wednesday, November 18 | 7:30 PM | Virtual Program
Click Here to See Our Sponsors

The 2020 National Human Relations Award program will be presented virtually and will not be ticketed. Supporting AJC and Senator Isakson is exclusively available through sponsorship. Registration to attend the event is free.

Johnny Isakson


While we would prefer to be presenting the award at a 500-person, we are still thrilled to be able to bring the community together for a virtual event on Wednesday, November 18 at 7:30pm.

The National Human Relations Award is presented each year to a civic or business leader whose work within the community represents the mission and values of AJC. We are honored to be presenting the award to Senator Johnny Isakson, for his distinguished career and service on behalf of his constituents in Georgia and across the country.

Our Event Co-Chairs are Frank Blake and Doug Hertz, and our Honorary Chair is Carol Tomé.

In the bipartisan spirit that guided Sen. Isakson, we are delighted to have Governor Roy Barnes, Governor Nathan Deal, Senator Saxby Chambliss, and Ambassador Andrew Young as Tribute Chairs. Below is the full list of the event leadership.

For questions or to join the Tribute Committee, please contact: Jennifer Pardee, Director of Development at 404.233.5501 ext. 5031 or pardeej@ajc.org


Honorary Chair

Carol B. Tomé, CEO, UPS


Event Chairs

Frank Blake, Former Chairman & CEO, The Home Depot

Doug Hertz, President & CEO, United Distributors


Tribute Chairs

Governor Roy E. Barnes

Senator Saxby Chambliss

Governor Nathan Deal

Ambassador Andrew Young


Tribute Committee

David Abney

Mike Anderson

Greg Averbuch

Rabbi Peter Berg

Amy Bubes

Mark Bubes

Ann Davis

Jay Davis

Erica Dechicchis

Curley Dossman

Ilene Engel

Jonathan Goldman

Sylvia Gort

Lisa Greenberg

Seth Greenberg

Jim Grien

Lauren Grien

Craig Kaufman

Fran Killeen

Marty Kogon

Sheri Labovitz

Steve Labovitz

Billy Levine

Larry Liebross

Judge Dax Lopez

Eduardo Martinez

Belinda Morris

Allan Nelkin

Melanie Nelkin

Sam Olens

Beth Paradies

Gregg Paradies

Alison Rand

Janice Rys

Jack Sawyer

Abe Schear

Linda Schear

Jay Schwartz

Joyce Schwartz

Linda Selig

Steve Selig

Lenny Silverstein

Melinda Wertheim

Steve Wertheim



Sen. Isakson entered politics in 1974 and served for 17 years in the Georgia legislature in both the House and Senate. He was elected in 1999 to the U.S. House for the first of three terms. In 2004, he was elected to his first term in the U.S. Senate, and he won re-election in 2010 and 2016. He holds the distinction of being the only Georgian ever to have been elected to the state House, state Senate, U.S. House and U.S. Senate.

He has served on five key U.S. Senate committees in the 116th Congress. He was selected to serve as chairman of the Senate Committee on Veterans’ Affairs and the Senate Select Committee on Ethics. As a veteran, his continued service as chairman of the Senate Committee on Veterans’ Affairs was a priority. He has long been focused on improving the quality and timeliness of care at Department of Veterans Affairs health facilities across the country. Sen. Isakson has served on the Ethics Committee since 2007, including as chairman of the committee since 2015 and as vice chair of the committee from 2009 until 2014. Sen. Isakson also served as a member of the Senate Committees on Finance, Foreign Relations and Health, Education, Labor and Pensions, where he worked to shape foreign policy as well as health care, tax and fiscal policies that help more Americans succeed. 

Sen. Isakson graduated from University of Georgia in 1966 and served in the Georgia Air National Guard from 1966 to 1972. He began his successful business career in 1967 when he opened the first Cobb County office of a small, family-owned real estate business, Northside Realty, which grew into the largest independent residential real estate brokerage company in the Southeast and one of the largest in America.

He and his wife Dianne reside in Marietta and attend Mount Zion United Methodist Church, where Isakson previously taught sixth grade Sunday school for 30 years.

More regional news

Back to Top