All Events for AJC New Jersey

February 24, 2021
Black students studying with White professor

From Swastika to Jim Crow: Reflecting on an important chapter in Black-Jewish relations

In honor of Black History Month, join Dr. Lillie Edwards, Professor Emerita of History and African-American Studies at Drew University, and Steven Fischler and Joel Sucher, co-producers of the 2000 documentary From Swastika to Jim Crow, to discuss the little-known story of German-Jewish refugees, who, expelled from their homeland by Hitler and the Nazis, found new lives and careers at historically Black colleges and universities in the American South. With antisemitic, anti-immigrant, and racist rhetoric once again on the rise, this film is as important today as it was when it was released over 20 years ago.

Wednesday, February 24
4:00 p.m. (ET), 3:00 p.m. (CT)
2:00 p.m. (MT), 1:00 p.m. (PT)

Register
March 1, 2021
Arturo Vargas and Mike Madrid

Debunking Stereotypes: Latinos and the Future of American Politics

The 2020 presidential election was a watershed moment in the growth and momentum of Latino political power and mobilization. With 16.6 million votes cast, Latinos played a key role in swinging election results in several battleground states. And yet, a majority of pre-election polls got the “Latino vote” wrong. Join Arturo Vargas, CEO of the National Association of Latino Elected and Appointed Officials, and Mike Madrid, an expert on Latino voting trends, as they address the diversity and complexity of the Latino communities and their growing impact on national politics.

Monday, March 1
2:00 p.m. (ET), 1:00 p.m. (CT)
12:00 p.m. (MT), 11:00 a.m. (PT)

Register
March 8, 2021
Eboo Patel

Religion: Cause or Cure for America’s Divides? A Conversation with Eboo Patel

Despite waning religious affiliation, faith continues to influence the culture and character of American society. Extremist Christian nationalism has fueled seditious violence, antisemitism, and other forms of hate. And yet, each day, religious leaders, both progressive and conservative, work to overcome the dangers of tribalism on the left and the right. Muslim-Jewish Advisory Council (MJAC) member Dr. Eboo Patel, the founder and president of Interfaith Youth Core, joins us to discuss how faith communities can champion good and oppose evil, and assure that America’s diversity is not a liability, but rather, an asset.

Monday, March 8
12:00 p.m. (ET), 11:00 a.m. (CT)
10:00 a.m. (MT), 9:00 a.m. (PT)

Register