Executive Council

The Executive Council (EC) is AJC’s legal board of directors. The EC manages and oversees AJC’s management and operations, including its finances and business transactions. AJC’s senior officers and commission chairs, in addition to several elected and appointed members of the Board of Governors, serve on the EC.


President: John M. Shapiro
New York
John M. Shapiro is President of AJC and managing director of Chieftain Capital Management, Inc., which he co-founded in 1984. Previously, he worked at Central National Corporation and Merrill Lynch & Co. John previously served as chairman of the AJC Board of Trustees and is a member of its Executive Council and national Board of Governors. In addition to his AJC involvement, John is chairman of Lawyers for Children, and vice chairman of The American Academy in Rome. He is also a trustee of The Rockefeller University, The Washington Institute for Near East Policy, The Jewish Museum, and the Jerusalem Foundation. In addition, he is a member of the Committee on Drawings and Prints for The Museum of Modern Art. He previously served as president of the UJA-Federation of New York, and president of The Dalton School in New York City. John received a BA degree from Wesleyan University and an MBA from Columbia Business School. John is married with two children.


Chair, AJC National Board of Governors: Harriet P. Schleifer

Harriet P. Schleifer is the Chair of AJC’s Board of Governors and is the development co-chair for the Westchester/Fairfield Regional Office. An attorney by training, Harriet has extensive professional and personal experience helping students with special needs, and enabling those with developmental and social delays to achieve independent living and employment opportunities. Harriet is former president of her synagogue, Bet Torah, in Mt. Kisco, NY, a member of the Executive Committee of Chapel Haven, Inc., New Haven, CT, a board member of the Women’s Campaign UJA Federation office, Mt. Kisco, NY, and a member of the board of the Westchester Jewish Council. Previous community efforts include service as first vice president of the Rosenthal JCC, Pleasantville, NY, vice president of the Family Support Services Council of the Westchester DDSO, member of the board of GROW, White Plains, NY, and leadership positions in the Chappaqua school district Parent-Teachers Association. Harriet received her undergraduate degree from Cornell University, two graduate degrees in education from the University of Virginia and a law degree from St. John’s University. She is happily married to Leonard S. Schleifer and is the proud mother of two sons Adam and David.


Chair, Board of Trustees: Matthew Bronfman

Matthew Bronfman is Chairman and CEO of BHB Holdings, an investment company with numerous interests. Matthew is one of the controlling shareholders of Israel Discount Bank ("IDB"), one of Israel's largest banks, and of Supersol, Israel's largest supermarket chain. In addition, Matthew controls the IKEA franchise in Israel, and has numerous real estate holdings there and in the U.S. Prior to starting BHB, Matthew was partner at ACI Capital, a private equity firm in NYC. ACI portfolio companies included Accent Energy, Sundance Catalogue, Excel Polymers and Jenny Craig. Prior to that, Matthew was the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Sterling Cellular Holdings, LP, a privately held cellular telephone company. Previously, he was employed by Goldman Sachs & Co. and Cadillac Fairview Corporation Limited. Prior to serving as Chair of AJC’s Board of Trustees, Matthew served as chairman of AJC Jerusalem. Matthew’s other philanthropic interests include the Teamwork Foundation, an afterschool basketball program in the South Bronx. He has also been involved for 20 years with the 92nd Street Y, joining the Board of Directors in 1991; chairing the Capital Campaign from 1997 to 2002; and serving as president from 2000 until 2003 and as chairman from 2003 to 2006. Matthew joined the Limmud FSU International Steering Committee in 2013 as chairman. He currently serves as chairman of the Program Committee and chairman of the Bronfman Center for Jewish Life Committee. He received a BA from Williams College and an MBA from Harvard Business School.


Chief Executive Officer: David Harris
Associate Chair, Board of Trustees: Linda Mirels
Associate Chair, Board of Trustees: Steven J. Wisch
Chair, Audit Committee: Henry Dubinsky
Chair, Leadership Development: Robert L. Newmark
Chair, Marketing & Communications: Matthew J. Coen
Chair, Program Coordinating Committee: Steven L. Zelkowitz
Chair, Regional Offices Committee: Michael Tichnor
Treasurer/Secretary: Suzanne D. Jaffe
Associate Treasurer/Chair, Budget Committee: Frank Linde

At-Large Members
René-Pierre Azria
Roberta S. Baruch
Richard L. Berkman
Ned Dubilo
Marvin Israelow
Martin Krall
Anthony E. Meyer
Ben A. Plotkin
Debra Smith Saidoff
Jeffrey E. Stone

Commission & Committee Chairs
Chair, Contemporary Jewish Life: Robert E. Lapin
Chair, International Relations: Kim J. Pimley
Chair, Interreligious Affairs: David Inlander
Chair, National Policy: Allan J. Reich

ACCESS Observers
Ilana Ron Levey
Adena Philips

If you would like to reach any of the members of the Executive Council, you may do so through Nadine Greenfield-Binstock, Director, Leadership Development and Board Engagement.