AJC GLOBAL FORUM 2013 - JOIN THE INNER CIRCLE www.ajc.org/globalforum


Ambassador Elena Poptodorova, Ambassador of Bulgaria to the U.S.

Advocacy in Action Dinners

ELENA POPTODOROVA On August 10, 2010, Elena Poptodorova began her second stint as Bulgaria’s Ambassador to the U.S. She also held this role from 2002 to 2008 when Bulgaria became member of NATO and the EU.

Prior to her second appointment in Washington, Ambassador Poptodorova was Director of the Security Policy Directorate at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. She has also served as served as Ambassador-at-Large for the Black Sea Region, Spokesperson of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Director of the Human Rights and International Humanitarian Organizations Directorate.

Earlier in her career (1990-2001) Ms Poptodorova was elected as a Member of Parliament. She served on the committees on foreign policy, national security, radio and TV, human rights and agriculture.

Ms. Poptodorova earned her B.A. and M.A. degrees at the Kliment Ohridski University of Sofia in English and Italian linguistic and literary studies, after which she attended a post-graduate course in international relations at the University of National and World Economy in Sofia. She specialized at the University of Leeds, UK and the University of Siena, Italy.

Ambassador Poptodorova is Doctor Honoris Causa of the Assumption College, Worcester, USA.

She is a founding member and member of the Boards of Bulgarian nongovernmental organizations including: The Atlantic Club of Bulgaria, The Centre for Regional and Geopolitical Research, The Bulgarian Family Planning and Reproductive Health Association which she currently chairs.

She is also member of the Washington-based Executive Council on Diplomacy and Women’s Foreign Policy Group.

Jason Isaacson

Stephen Johnson

Ambassador Vassilis Kaskarekis

Foreign Minister Erato Kozakou−Marcoullis

William Kristol

Jacob Lew

Cheryl Martin

Dr. Alan Mendoza

Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu

Dr. Michael Oren

Ambassador Joško Paro

Foreign Minister Antonio de Aguiar Patriota

Ambassador Zygimantas Pavilionis

MK Yohanan Plesner

Ambassador Elena Poptodorova

Dr. Richard Prasquier

Ambassador Ron Prosor